Connect with us


WPIAL Class 2A Boys Soccer All-Section selections (2022)

Photo courtesy Ed Thompson

The 2022 high school boys soccer season provided plenty of oustanding play and excitement, with Pine-Richland shocking Seneca Valley in the WPIAL title, but the Raiders made amends by taking the PIAA crown in convincing fashion.

At the highest level, in Class 2A, WPIAL featured many outstanding players.

Below are the listings for the All-Section players as chosen by the coaches this past year, along with the Players and Coaches of the Year in each section.

Special thanks to South Park’s Jon Cantwell, who helped compile the lists and share them with Pittsburgh Soccer Now.

Section 1

Yves Agbodoh, sr., D, Woodland Hills

Matthew Armenio, sr., M, East Allegheny

Danny Battista, so., M, South Park

Ryan Ellis, so., D, South Park

Kaiden Fischer, jr., M, South Park

Ryan Fisher, sr., M, Steel Valley

Cy Garcia, jr., M, Keystone Oaks

Nick Kosuda, sr., F, West Mifflin

Cam Loveland, jr., M, South Park

Aiden Marks, sr., F, West Mifflin

Flynn McCracken, sr., GK, West Mifflin

Colby Miller, sr., D, East Allegheny

Jack Ozimek, jr., F, South Park

Will Sinay, jr., D, Elizabeth Forward

Ryan Wesolowski, so., M, South Park

Player of the year: Kaiden Fischer, South Park

Coach of the year: Jon Cantwell, South Park

Section 2

Amir Awais, jr., F, Shady Side Academy

Nick Braun, sr., GK, Deer Lakes

Troy Clark, sr., F, Derry

Patrick Galvin, sr., GK, Greensburg Salem

Ryan Hanes, sr., F, Deer Lakes

Joey Kushon, jr., D, Deer Lakes

Peyton Kushon, fr., F, Deer Lakes

Drew McKim, jr., M, Shady Side Academy

Jake Mull, sr., F/M, Leechburg

Caleb Oskin, sr., F/M, Knoch

Ashton Redmond, sr., F/M, Leechburg

Garrett Risch, sr., F, Freeport

Jackson Suski, jr., F, Shady Side Academy

Jordan Taylor, jr., F, Jeannette

Isaac Wetzel, sr., M, Freeport

Co-players of the year: Ryan Hanes, Deer Lakes; Isaac Wetzel, Freeport

Coach of the year: Aaron Smith, Deer Lakes

Section 3

Zander Aird, jr., F, Yough

Katie Blickenderfer, so., D, Washington

Bryce Burkhart, so., GK, Belle Vernon

Rocco DeLuca, sr., D/F, McGuffey

Dylan Donitzen, sr., M, Mt. Pleasant

Nathaniel Kikel, sr., F/M, Belle Vernon

Trevor Kovatch, so., F/M, Belle Vernon

Drew Layton, sr., D/M, Waynesburg

Joe Obeldobel, sr., F, Yough

Luke Rivardo, jr., M, Mt. Pleasant

Thomas Ruffcorn, sr., F, Brownsville

Dylan Stewart, jr., M/F, McGuffey

Derek Tarpley, sr., F/M, Brownsville

Dylan Wudkwych, jr., F, Washington

Brandon Yeschenko, so., M, Belle Vernon

Player of the year: Trevor Kovatch, Belle Vernon

Coach of the year: Floyd Snyder, Mt. Pleasant

Section 4

Nick Allan, jr., F, Quaker Valley

Brayden Beckner, sr., D, Mohawk

Caden Biela, sr., M, Beaver

Jameson Bonnar, sr., F, Beaver

Evan Burry, sr., F/M, Riverside

Kyle Carlsen, jr., M, Beaver

Rowan Carmichael, so., M, Avonworth

Matteo Castellini, jr., M, Quaker Valley

Chris Colonna, jr., F, Hopewell

Jordan Dawley, sr., M, Avonworth

Ben Henry, sr., M, Quaker Valley

Corey Obeldobel, sr., D, Hopewell

Michael Osekowski, sr., F/M, Avonworth

Isaac Waller, sr., GK, Quaker Valley

Eli Whalen, jr., D, Avonworth

Player of the year: Nick Allan, Quaker Valley

Coach of the year: J.J. Veshio, Quaker Valley

More in WPIAL